Gurnal Dubs

Mr P took me on a walk above Staveley to visit a couple of tarns where he has been told I could swim. Sure enough there were people swimming in both of them. About 8km with 200m of climb . I know that's not a lot for regular Lakes walkers but for someone with a dodgy hip and walking poles it was quite an expedition. Luckily Mr P has found other groups to go out with who can easily walk twice as far as this and twice as quickly. It was shame I did not take a swimming costume because it was really hot today and I could have gladly taken a dip. Chatted to one swimmer who told me she was so hot one day she stripped off for a bit of skinny dipping but had to wait for ages to get out because a large group of ramblers ambled by slowly.  This shot was on our route round Gurnal Dubs. Apparently a dub is a natural pond. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.