Ring of Brodgar

I visited Orkney a few times about 35 years ago when the many wonderful archeaological sites were free to wander round and there were far fewer coach parties. Now was a trip down memory lane showing Mr P and son M around. We did Kirkwall, St Magnus Cathedral (1137) and the Orneyinga sagas first where I discovered I had left the SD card for my camera at home. Next trip a camera shop. Then Scara Brae (3200BC) , the Ring of Brodgar(2600BC)  and dropped M off at the Stromness Hotel for a 2 day conference on using hydrogen in the maritime industry. We treated M to a birthday meal in the hotel. Sampled the delicious Orkney beef. My theory is thats its so good because the cattle are kept in family groups and they are very happy. You don't tend to see see that in the rest of the UK. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.