The Friendly, Friendly Chipmunk

We have always been gifted with plenty of chipmunks at our house. I think they're cute. My husband and Dexter the Tabby think otherwise. This spring we seem to have MORE chipmunks than ever, and we hear their characteristic squeaks everywhere. There is one particular little fellow that is very, very FRIENDLY.

It spends most of its day running up and down the driveway, snacking on maple tree seed pods (see upper left), which are apparently some kind of chipmunk delicacy. There are chipmunks who hang out on the deck as well, much to dear Dexter's chagrin; I regret to tell you he takes it all very personally (or maybe purrsonally?).

One of this particular chipmunk's defining characteristics is that it is fearless, and you can walk right up to it without it dodging out of your way. I watched it get too close to the road, so I walked down and sort of chased it back up the driveway toward a safer spot. (We don't want any needless tragedies, like that one time.)

After that, I hunkered down a few feet away to take a couple of close-up shots. You should have seen my face when the chipmunk ran right toward me, apparently attempting to run right between my feet. I admit I squeaked a little too! But then we both settled down and I got a few decent photos of the chipmunk, one of which is above. Just LOOK at those cute little paws! :-)

The song: Pete Townshend, A Friend Is A Friend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.