SueScape

By SueScape

Hey Jude .....

I see this cottage every day now I live in Midhurst.
Valerian always reminds me of my friend Judith. She passed on from cancer in 1993. She was a healer, just like Valerian, and she had oceans of it growing in her garden. I can't get it to grow!

The song says

And anytime you feel the pain, hey Jude, refrain
Don't carry the world upon your shoulders....

But Judith did carry the world on her shoulders. She helped who she could, when she could as well as holding down a more than full time job.

Her 18 year old daughter had me promise months earlier that I would read the Desiderata at Judith's funeral, so I did. Boy, was I nervous. The church was packed with about 200 people, some in the church yard. My voice trembled, my heart felt like it would leap out of my chest. I was determied to get through it, for Judith and for Lou.


But not everyone agreed with healing in our locality, and we had to have 'bouncers' on the church doors to stop objectors coming in to the church. What a day it was, sadness, joy and yes, fear.

Desiderata [quote]


“You are a child of the universe,
no less than the trees and the stars;
you have a right to be here.
And whether or not it is clear to you,
no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should.”


Max Ermann: Desiderata - A Poem for a Way of Life




God Bless, Judith, always remembered.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.