Heron

I went to the Yorkshire Sculpture Park this morning, very early as I know from past experience that by late morning it's uncomfortably busy and even if you don't mind that, there's never anywhere to park.  Just as I was on my way home people were arriving and there was a constant stream of traffic - fortunately for me heading to the park and not in my direction.  I had a walk round the lake and stayed for a time in the hide, but it was when I moved down and past the Cascade Bridge that I saw this Heron.  He was fishing from the boardwalk whilst a swan snoozed at the side of him;  he kept spreading his wings and flexing them a bit but was happy staying where he was.  Other Herons (whose nests I could see were flying to and fro obviously feeding young). I suppose this one may be a youngster who doesn't have a mate yet.

Whilst I was out this morning I must have been bitten by an insect of some sort as I've a lump on my forearm which is the size of a small egg and it's itching madly.  It's such a nuisance as I never know at the time when these things happen, it's only later and by then the reaction has set in.

Many thanks for the comments, stars and hearts for yesterday's image :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.