The Water of Leith through the State Cinema window

I have had a fun-packed day.

First of all, I reclaimed my Monday morning with no need to trek to the hospital for radiotherapy treatment - hurrah! I mainly worked on a grant proposal for Bruce to pick up and submit in time for the deadline (when I am on annual leave).

Then Mr hazelh and I met Katharine and Jack for lunch on Commercial Street in Leith, followed by a really interesting tour of (1) Leith Theatre and (2) the State Cinema. Katharine and Jack have both been heavily involved in the restoration of the theatre so it was great to see all the progress that has been made there. The cinema - also dreadfully neglected for years - will soon be converted into accommodation that will maintain its grade B listed frontage. Both buildings provided rich pickings for blips. In the end I have chosen a 'view' through one of the filthy windows in the cinema. The ivy was growing inside from the banks of the Water of Leith!

Back home again after our trip out I set to work preparing a salad supper for my book group pals. On the menu was mackerel pâté, three salads (Oakville, chicken and spinach, vegetable pasta), and lemon meringue pie. Kir royale in the yard before taking our places at the table in the kitchen went down particularly well, as reported by Ridgeback13 and Winsford. Christine and I were the biggest fans of the book - Manhattan Beach by Jennifer Egan - although it has to be said that not everyone was able to offer a full opinion because they hadn't quite managed to finish it.

Exercise today: walking  (12,515 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.