Alf Resco, Dartmouth, Devon

It's many years since we enjoyed a full-English breakfast at Alf Resco's in Dartmouth, but as I had to be at the clinic in town at 8a.m. for a physio appointment, it sort-of made sense. The physio gave me a cortisone injection in my frozen shoulder. It's now a bit achey, but - fingers crossed - it should become less painful within a few days, such that I should be able to do the exercises he gave me. These, in turn, should improve my arm movement, which is very limited at present.

Not only is the food excellent at Alf Fresco, and the service superb, but the ambience is good, too. With limitless toast and tea or coffee refils, it's also very good value. By the time we arrived (they open at 7.00am daily) the place was packed (with local regulars and holiday-makers), so we were lucky to find a space. I like the old signs on display and the newspapered ceiling. And what alternative name could you call the loo in a place like Alf Resco, other than the Café Khazi?! (Keeps those eating at indoor tables amused!)

Warm and hazy today, though not exactly sunny! It was raining earlier and the garden would like more. The sky's still making its mind up ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.