Plus ça change...

By SooB

Ark weather

Ridiculous weather again again again. It has been raining since Sunday afternoon. My Northumbrian parents are sunburnt and complaining that it's too hot to sleep. I'm still using my electric blanket and wondering whether there's now any point in packing away winter thermals this year....

Anyway, some work today - of the more thoughtful drafting variety that I enjoy, and just a touch of the seat-of-your-pants last minute negotiation. (I only love that when we win. We seem to have done today.)

And many great leaps forward on the band/gig front including me learning more about bilingual drums than I ever thought I would need to know. Really feels like this is going to happen now!

Also more ferrying around of kids than I feel the new school bus system should entail. And then tonight TallGirl pointed out that she should cook more dinners, because her friends who get home before their commuter parents 'often' cook dinner, and just because I work 10 metres from the kitchen doesn't need to affect anything. Well. My gob was truly smacked.

Later, I somehow found myself offering that TallGirl's summer lit project* could be a particular science book. I think I must have been played, but I just can't see how she did it - it really felt like my idea. I have much to learn of her Jedi mind tricks.

* They have 11 and 9.5 weeks holiday respectively, and no exams. So I've set holiday homework: a lit thing, a creative thing, a musical thing, and a practical thing. So sue me. (Which could count as creative, practical and literary, I suppose.)

Later, meeting at school at which stereotypes were lived up to and I said no very firmly to taking on a new job (and kept really quiet when something obviously GDPR-ish came up).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.