stujphoto

By stujphoto

Summerlee Industrial Heritage Museum

Today with my friend, Eric, I went to visit an industrial heritage museum in Coatbridge on the site of a former iron works. It is over ten years since I visited the site previously and in the meantime it has had a major upgrade. There are now lots of exhibits to see and a lot of interactive displays, It is an interesting amalgam of industrial and social history, giving a perspective on the views of the Victorian entrepreneurs and of the workers in the factories.In my montage I have included a winding engine for a colliery, a shunting engine, old an decaying coal wagons and an intricate piece of geared machinery. There is also a terrace of miner's cottages and these are furnished according the styles of different decades. I particularly liked the fifties living room and have also included this in my montage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.