Look, no moonlight

Paterson’s billboard image is one of her Ideas sentences. These are short haiku-like statements reveal some of Paterson’s most exciting and seemingly impossible ideas. Paterson has gone on to realise a number of these poetic phrases as physical artworks. What gradually becomes clear with Paterson’s work is that the distance between the realised and the unrealisable is not to be relied upon.

I tidy my office. This consists of removing many things and piling them outside. Some are consigned to the dump, some to the workshop, a few return. There’s still a pile in purgatory, neither in nor out. Defer.

I meet Claire and Megan at the Omni centre. Claire has just had an interview at Prestonpans. Megan is chilled, relaxing in between climbing expeditions. We watch Solo - which is utterly enjoyable nonsense.

Claire heads back to Kinghorn, while Megan and I eat a few mezze at Pomegranate. Lovely.

I walk her back to Waverley. There’s a sign on the Ingleby gallery “a place that exists only in moonlight.” It’s overcast and not yet dark. Waverley is a very physical presence. Maybe the sign is referring to the ghostly remnants of the St James Centre.

I return home, to the silence of my bothy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.