It's the Little Things

I didn't have time for any special photo stops on this day. But I got my Mazda back, finally, on Tuesday. And I started driving it again on this day. So life is good; I was happy, even without having time to do anything else particularly special.

There are several big planters outside the building where I work, and it's actually one of the little things that means quite a lot to me. Every day, I get to see a beautiful flower display before I go to work, and again on my way out the door.

These flowers are not just a gift to the people who work here. They also provide sustenance to the butterflies, later in the year. Last summer, the lantana they planted drew monarchs and painted ladies well into late October.

In fact, I recall taking a little break in my workday one warm October afternoon just to watch and photograph the butterflies. As I was standing there, one of the "big bosses," a very fine lady, walked by. She looked at me and I looked at her.

It crossed my mind that maybe I should be working instead of watching butterflies. But what could a 10-minute break hurt? "Painted ladies," I said, as if that explained everything, and gestured. She smiled and nodded, looked appreciative and interested, kept on walking. I imagine she was already late for some very important meeting. I myself was not.

One morning, I walked by as these planters were being planted. I stopped and thanked the two ladies who were doing the work. I told them how much these flowers mean to us. I told them how awesome it is to see something beautiful every day.

One of the ladies laughed out loud. She said the people of our building are ALWAYS very appreciative, and the gardeners love planting flowers for us. I was humbled. It's the little things in life that make one's day. Like flowers in a pretty planter outside the front door. Food for the soul. Food for the butterflies.

The song for this one is a favorite Stevie Nicks tune, and this is a gorgeous, simple demo version that I think you'll enjoy. The song is called "I Sing for the Things," from the late 1985 album Rock a Little, which is one of my favorites. (You can also find the song in the Stevie Nicks boxed set, Enchanted.)

You say I have everything
Well, I'm living on dreams and chains
But I sing for the things money can't buy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.