A sculpture of Scampi

This morning we drove to Arundel to pay a visit to Sarah (the youngest of Mr hazelh's three sisters) and our toddler nephew Freddie. When I saw this sculpture of Sarah's dog Scampi (hilariously once called 'Spanky' by mistake by my mother-in-law) in her kitchen, I knew that I had my blip for the day.

It really is a very good likeness, and I couldn't quite believe it when Sarah told me that it was she who made it. Although I have some bits and pieces at home that she created when she was little, such as Christmas decorations and a wide-mouthed clay frog match-holder, I had no idea that Sarah had any artistic talent. I joked that she should produce a bust of her brother as her next project.

After a walk into the town centre for coffee and a mooch around the antiques market, we enjoyed lunch together back at Sarah's house. Then Mr hazelh, his parents and I set off home again, with a stop at Boxgrove Priory to admire the paintings on the vaulted ceiling, and the church's stained glass windows.

I am still suffering somewhat from radiation fatigue. I finally gave into it today when I retired to my bed for the rest of the afternoon. Zzzzzzz.

Exercise today: none (minimal walking).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.