La Tour du Clos

Our last day in Bargemon but we didn't have to be at the airport until this afternoon. I walked into the village to post a card and to get a last blip.

Posting the card proved to be the more difficult of the two things. At La Poste the letterbox was sealed and a notice said there was a box at Place Phillipe Chauvier but I didn't have a clue where that was. I did a search in MapMe but that did me no good. I carried on with my walk feeling sure I'd see one on my way but no. As I got back to the main square I saw the lady in the restaurant where we ate the other day and asked where it was in my best french. She pointed me to the main square and I realised that was it. She told me the post box was by the tabac which was where I'd bought the blo... postcard in the first place. It would have been easier to find a french post box in Bishopsteignton where I live, there's on outside the Community Centre. It probably doesn't get emptied so often though.

The tower in my blip is the Tour du Clos, which dates from 1589 and was part of the walls that surrounded the village. It's a pretty little tower but close to other buildings in most directions so there's not too much choice over composition. The sun came out for a brief moment as I took the photo.

After some lunch Bruno and Pip ferried us in to Nice airport. We were a little late boarding as the plane had been delayed on the downward route by thunderstorms over France. We missed our slot so there was another 30 minutes delay to get in the air. The journey wasn't too bad and we made up a bit of that time. There was also some very heavy rain on the drive back from Bristol but we arrived home at about 9.30.

Thank you very much for all the presents you left on my 2000th blip yesterday. They and all your good wishes are most gratefully received but as yet I've had little opportunity to reply. Please know that they've all been read and appreciated. It's great to be a part of this lovely community!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.