Scampton Church

Today I had to change my plans due to unforeseen circumstances. Despite the poor weather I was going to gamble and head up to Bempton cliffs and try and get a few sea bird shots. I filled up the car with petrol and then headed up the A15 towards the Humber bridge. I only got about 15 miles up the road to be faced with traffic stood at a standstill. I could see a few cars had turned around and about 3 or 4 blue light plain cars had whizzed past on the wrong side of the road so decided it looked like it was not going to clear so turned around myself and headed back towards Lincoln. I decided to take a detour and head to Scampton Village to take a few shots of the Church there. It is the church of St.John the Baptist.
It is a fairly modern church. It mainly dates back to the 18th Century with some parts from the 17th Century. With it been  near to RAF Scampton it does have many service men buried there. There was a church on the same site from before the Norman Conquest which was larger than the new one but it became dilapidated and had to be destroyed to make way for the new church. A few more shots can be seen HERE .
The weather is set to be poor again tomorrow so not the best of weeks to have had off work (: 
I did the right thing by turning round as the road didn't open up again till about 4.30 this afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.