FLOWER FRIDAY

After plastering myself with an insect repellent, I wandered round the garden looking for a flower for today’s challenge.  It didn’t help that during last evening we had a thunderstorm and overnight we have had some very heavy rain, so a lot of the flowers have been rather battered down, particularly the poppies, but there are more to come so if we have some dry and sunny weather, they should soon be blooming.

However, I found these blackberry flowers, which are looking good, if a trifle damp - and the bees were buzzing around them very well, which is a good sign.  I don’t think I have seen so many flowers for a few years, so I can feel some blackberry pickle and blackberry and apple crumbles coming on.

The strawberries are also doing very well this year and Mr. HCB has been out in the garden since the crack of dawn, planting runner beans and generally “messing about” in the greenhouse and outside, doing what he does best and what he enjoys.  

I really should do some housework but think I should rest my foot for a bit longer (any excuse) so I think a cup of coffee and another look at the camera manual might be a good idea.

Hope you all have a great weekend - according to my resident weatherman, it is due to be dry, so let’s hope so - after all it is June!

“Gardening simply does not allow one 
     to be mentally old, 
          because too many hopes and dreams 
               are yet to be realized.”
Allan Armitage
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.