SILLY SATURDAY - FIREMAN SAM

When we went up to Jack’s on Thursday, we met our friend, Margaret, and when we were talking, she told us that when she was in hospital having her hip replaced some years ago, a good neighbour bought her a Fireman Sam soft toy to put on the end of her bed.  I just happened to say that it would be good to take a photograph for Silly Saturday, so Margaret said she would bring it in so that I could take a shot.

True to her word, when we arrived for our usual Saturday morning coffee at Jack’s, Margaret was there and Fireman Sam was in a bag by the side of her.  She happily took him out and showed us that her friend had written “Get Well soon, Margaret” on his hat.  I must add that Margaret also likes real-life firemen - perhaps I should try and arrange a visit for her to our local Fire Station!

Trevor, another friend who is usually at Jack’s is away on holiday - due back today, so I told Margaret that I would send a photograph of Sam to him and his wife and she just smiled.  

Margaret thinks that Sam is the real star of the show - but we know otherwise.  She is a lovely lady and we enjoy chatting to her - and you would never believe that she is interested in Formula 1 Racing!  She knows all the drivers and is particularly fond of Lewis Hamilton, so I am sure she will be watching the F1 Grand Prix in Canada on 10 June - and in fact, another two of our friends will be there watching the actual race, so Margaret is quite envious.

Margaret loves to talk about her cats, and in fact, one of them had gone missing on Thursday, so although she knows that we are not that keen on cats, I think she was quite surprised this morning when we asked if her cat had come back.  She said that he comes back to eat, but must be sleeping somewhere else, but as long as he is safe, that’s all she worries about.

I remember being told when I was younger that I talked too much - but when you know someone lives alone and doesn’t chat that much, it’s good to be able to share with them, so this morning was a real blessing to me and Mr. HCB - and I hope it was to Margaret too.  

“Speak in such a way
     that others love 
          to listen to you.
Listen in such a way
     that others love 
          to speak to you.”
Anon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.