FLOWER FRIDAY

The saga from yesterday continues!  We do have electricity but the very large hole is now almost filled with water, so the Water Board came out at 9.20 last night to inspect it, after I had spent a considerable time on the telephone just after 5 p.m. because they hadn’t come back by then, as promised.

It seems as if power has been restored to everyone around, but there are now two very big holes in our lovely new pavements - but they all say that it will be put back as it was before - which I do find difficult to believe, because it was a special sort of tarmac that was used and I doubt either the Electricity or Water Boards have access to that.  Time will tell.

I am going out to meet our friend, Julia, today for coffee later but wanted to wander round the garden and enjoy the flowers in the early morning, so just before 8 a.m. I was in the garden, and yes, I was wearing my pink robe!  I watched this little drone fly - see the extra - on one of our new clematis plants, appropriately called Madame Julia Correvon, but this lovely rose on the fence, that I realise needs painting, caught my eye, so here is my Blip for the Flower Friday challenge and apart from the frame, this is SOOC.

The garden still looks very colourful and the peony we moved last year is blooming well - Mr. HCB tells me he has been out in the garden since just after 6.30 this morning but as we get the sun in our garden for most of the day, it suits him better to get out there early and then he can come in and watch cricket on the television.

As I write this, we have at least a dozen starlings in our garden, some adults and many of them babies, squabbling with each other over the fat balls - some of the young ones seem very aggressive, but I guess they need to be once they are on their own in the world - the sadness is that because there are so many, the little blue tits and great tits don't get much of a chance.

"Thorns and roses grow on the same tree. 
A life with love will have some thorns, 
     but a life without love will have no roses. 
Do not watch the petals 
     fall from the rose with sadness; 
          know that, like life, 
               things sometimes must fade, 
before they can bloom again."
Unknown

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.