ABSTRACT THURSDAY

I love doing the Abstract Thursday challenge, and today’s was no exception.  I have often said that since taking a photograph every day I have looked at things in much more depth.  I was given this paperweight many years ago by a friend, but I can’t honestly say I have ever looked at it that closely.

It was on the windowsill for my Wide Angle Wednesday shot yesterday, next to the turquoise vase, but only when I walked downstairs today did I see the beauty in it.  

I decided it needed some colour behind it, so out came the foil balloons that I was given for my 70th birthday, and which I had carefully preserved after they had deflated - “just in case they come in handy” - and of course, today they did!

So here is my Abstract Thursday paperweight, having its moment of glory on Blip - I keep thinking I will make a huge collage of all my abstract blips and perhaps I should do it soon, otherwise it will too big to go on the wall.  

Mr. HCB and I are going to the funeral today of Edna, a lady from church who died recently aged 92.  When they first came to our church, we befriended them and I often made cakes and we would take them round.  We were always made most welcome and were often invited to watch a slide show of the various places they had visited during their life and Rob used to enjoy talking to Mr. HCB about steam trains and cricket - in fact, Edna knew as much about cricket as they did, and often chimed in!  They had no children and I often used to wish that I had had a father like Rob.  We were invited to their 60th Wedding Anniversary dinner and it was a great shock when Rob died suddenly not long after.  

Following his death Edna went into a nursing home and gradually deteriorated when sadly dementia robbed her of much of the joy in life.  We spent many happy hours with this lovely Christian couple and today will celebrate two lives well lived and remember them with love and affection.

“The best and most beautiful things in the world
     cannot be seen or even touched - 
          they must be felt with the heart.”
Helen Keller

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.