First of the Season

Today was the first day of the Torbay Airshow. It's a frustrating day here. We tend to lurk around the deck looking for whatever we can see. It's the afternoon that all my neighbours decide to use their motormowers, chainsaws etc to make it more difficult for me to hear the subtle sounds of a Rolls-Royce Griffon engine of a Spitfire coming over the house. The Red Arrows must have come in high over the sea so we didn't see them coming or going although we got a distant display over the ridge. Nor did we see the Typhoon. We heard him but he must have been above the cloud. I got a brief view of a Mark IX Spitfire but without enough warning to get the shot. I saw the Battle of Britain memorial team (a Dakota and the Lancaster) came in close low and were behind trees 5 seconds after they appeared.

Did I get anything? I got a great shot of a Beech 99 which turned out to be nothing to do with the air show but was on a journey from Dunkeswell to Bournemouth. My blip is of one of the Aerosuperbatics Wingwalkers which I've always known as the Breitling Wingwalkers but I suppose they must have lost the sponsorship.

Maybe tomorrow I'll get something better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.