Travelling

I started the day in Glasgow with breakfast outside in the sun. Y and I sat and chatted sitting on the grass, hopefully getting a bit of a tan, until the clouds started to come over and it was time to leave.

The journey east was much quicker than yesterday as there was no traffic until we got to the Edinburgh bypass that is. It was humid in Edinburgh and about 5 minutes after I got in the rain started. Intermittent at first so I did manage a wee bit pruning but then full on. No grass cutting then.

Out for another meal. This time to the Rabbit Hole in Marchmont with mum and D, my sister's sister in law. They are off to St Paul le Jeune for a week. I hope the weather improves in France. The food was good and the restaurant, formerly Sweet Melindas, much changed in layout. Dropped them off home before an early night.

And there was sad news this morning. My mother's aunt died 9 weeks before her 100th birthday. We'd only been talking about her on Thursday night. Youngest of 5 she was born 5 months after her father, a ploughman, died. As a poor fatherless bairn she, and 2 siblings, was sent to Donaldson's School, which took poor kids as well as deaf ones. She was the last surviving grandchild of a couple who were born in 1827 and 1836, 3 generations spanning 191 years. Her grandmother is buried in Gifford.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.