Creeping cold

It felt even colder on Lake Aviemore today. By lunchtime it was unpleasantly cold because it was so cold so we headed to Lake Benmore, the lake in the distance in this photo.

I've felt Dad's absence this weekend. At some point I wandered off to clean and gut a fish I'll take home with me. I always carry an old teaspoon to help clean out the blood line along the spine.

Dad once collected old teaspoons for me from a second hand shop so I'd have a supply. I felt his smile, love, and pride as I carried my fish, knife, and spoon.

The small stream I used was only just above zero and with the breeze my hands ached. Just like exercise I shut off the pain and got on with it.

Most fish I've put back or lost this weekend. It's been lean fishing but oh so beautiful. Yesterday morning slivers of ice fell as we prepared to leave for the day, wee needles of frozen fog.

My eyes are red rimmed. The cold affects where they're still healing.

I looked at the option of using wool insulation. You need much greater thickness of wool to achieve the same R value of warmth retention. Then we'd have hit the building paper that lines the roof and that is a no no. I chose to go with fibre glass. It's much improved over the years, has a high R value for the thickness, and it's made from recycling glass. To achieve the maximum improvement to my insulation, it was a no brainer.

I just needes to have googles over my glasses and I didn't.

Today's gratitude: For lots of laughs and beautiful surroundings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.