And another one...

This section of road was examined by the local authority highways engineer and found to be "safe". I'm calling that into question as we wheel away the victims of the third serious accident in five months in this location. Yes, everything is political.

In barely four weeks time there is a Public Inquiry into allowing another 121 homes and a shop (which borders this road) with a traffic access within a few yards of today's accident. I am hoping and praying to any gods that want to listen that the Inspector finds it is unreasonable to allow another busy traffic junction in this area.

I'm so glad to hear that everyone came away from this three vehicle incident without any fatalities or serious injury. That's not always been the case. The bridge has always been a hazardous section of road of course, and perhaps it's down to the lack of adequate speeding controls. But if we control speeds adequately, we promote lengthy tailbacks and congestion... what to do?

In other news, following yesterday's fabulous double birthday party that I've just about recovered from, we had a lovely barbeque party of our own this evening with friends round the corner and my daughter and her husband (whose birthday it is and who may have helped me explore the wonder of my whisky cupboard).

The extra may indicate how close I am to grandfatherhood...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.