Lights

A quarter of an hour before actual sunrise, the sky from Melbourne Airport was superb. And the changes over the next 20 to 30 minutes were likewise grand. It's easier to run before sunrise the first day (only day on this trip) one is in Australia, because of the changed time. I actually got up a bit later than my usual.

Last evening, I was treated to a very colourful sunset from the window of my hotel room. Attempts to take pictures were bedevilled by the glass in the way, and every shot was just not quite right. I may put the best in blipfolio. This morning I was in the clear air.

There was more colour in later pictures. I liked the one where I included a eucalyptus tree. But I chose this because it is so different, and I was really taken with the tiny spots of light throughout the long term car park for the airport. Before dawn, those lights would have made everything bright and feeling safe. Even during the pre-sunrise twilight, the power of these lights is put into perspective by the effects of the coming sun.

The meeting I came here for has finished, and I am checked in on the flight home, and in the lounge waiting for the time to leave. Won't land until midnight and then a half hour into the city. Makes for a long day.

I have given myself the morning off, tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.