Double Happy

Tonight is the night we in New Zealand mark the Gunpowder Plot to blow up the English Houses of Parliament. The eponymous Guy Fawkes night.

Emergency services would have been relieved to see the weather deteriorate during the day, and this evening there were more rain squalls than dry periods. The rain was heavy, blown almost horizontal by the swirling wind, and the day darkened well before sunset. I started a record of this evening with a photo across Grey Lynn towards Coxs Bay, the latter barely visible because of the heavy rain.

The boys were with us for dinner, as daughter C had to attend senior prize giving at the school where she teaches. Then S went out to her book club, leaving me to mind the boys. The intention had been that they would have a lovely time watching the fireworks from the deck. Fireworks were few and far between, as those people setting them off waited for the two or three minutes without rain.

Relatively late in the evening, the skies cleared and the fireworks began to be let off by those who hadn't decided to defer to a dry night. Young L and then Mr H came out on the deck with me, and to get a decent view, they kneeled or stood on the table.

If there are even double happy crackers for sale still, I doubt there were many boys setting them off tonight. Instead, I got the pleasure of these two bundles of energy and happiness.

(Anyone who visited soon after I first posted may wonder where is the photo of the firework I first posted. It and some others are in my blip folio, as I changed my mind and put up the watchers)

Additions to blip folio are:
Rain
West
Spiral
Explosion
Bright

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.