Three Lamps

Three Lamps is the name given to the area around the end of Ponsonby Road where it meets College Hill, St Mary's Bay Road and Jervois Road. (The old Ponsonby Post Office in the background with a flag atop) is at the junction). The name was originally informal and due to the presence of a gas lamp with three lights at the junction. Although that is long gone, the name is now permanent.

This area is very busy throughout the day, and into the evening. I liked the activity that is shown here. A constant facet of this part of my One Street.

Worth a look in large.

Yesterday, everything was still a little raw and being suppressed. Nothing major. Just the delights stress of technology. The printer in my home office decided a couple of days ago that intermittent non function (requiring a restart) was not enough and refused to print black any more. Even with a new cartridge. Past its warranty, the cost of repair is uneconomical. If it could be repaired, that is.

I abhor the built in waste that modern technology has.

We need a printer here so that I can work from home on the days I don't go to the office. Yesterday I went to see what is available. Found one that looked just what I need without also wanting to do really clever colour printing (not set up for photos; the one at the beach house is).

Got it home to find that it is back loading rather than front loading (of the paper), and when I tried it there was not enough room between the shelf on the desk and the shelf above. Never mind, I could turn the desk shelf around and put it across the end of the desk.

Much struggling and muffled cursing (the boys were here) later, I managed to turn it around and then found that orientation was a total pain. Decided I could get used to it. As it happens, I had neglected to remove something which made the paper higher than it should be, and on correction of that, it fits the proper way (Of Course!!!). Fortunately, returning it to the correct orientation was simpler and quicker.

Then set up the printer. Did everything in the prescribed order (I read and obey manuals). Turned on the iMac and tried to connect. Wouldn't find the printer. The printer wouldn't find the computer. I kept getting the same message on each and by this stage was quietly becoming a gibbering wreck. Daughter J who was briefly back in Auckland, offered to try.

Quite quickly she told me that her advice was to take it back and ask for a Brother, because she knows how to set those up.

I decided to try one more avenue. I rang the Epson help line. A foreign sounding young woman patiently elicited my problem, gave me information on how to reset the printer to factory specs, and emailed my a visual and written 7 stage guide to set it up. Exactly what I had expected in the manual which came with the machine AND WAS NOT THERE.

A few minutes later all was functional. It prints, it copies, it scans and the fax can be set up when I'm strong enough.

All up this took so much time that I had no time for an evening run before taking responsibility for the boys. Today's run in (mostly) bright sun was a welcome antidote.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.