Plus ça change...

By SooB

Olive flowers

These olive flowers have gone over a little, but the ones on the other big tree are not out yet and this, at least, allows me to pretend that June is a blue sky month here.  (It is not: it rained today.)

An early start to make sure CarbBoy was up in time to finish the homework we had a fight about last night (in case I forget to backblip this, he needed to print pictures on some ancient Italian comedy theatre style, my printer is out of ink, so I said I would write him a note to his teacher to explain that, but that he had to find the pictures so he could email them to himself to prove to his teacher that he had really done the work.  Later it turned out that he also had to write about all the pictures... which obviously he had not.  So I said I would write a note about the pictures, but not the writing.  Hence getting up at 6am.

At about 6.30 am a slightly tearful boy announced that he felt really poorly.  He did look awful and I made that judgement call that all parents have to make from time to time when illness mysteriously coincides with unfinished homework - and I sent him back to bed rattling with pills.

Turns out I made the right choice - though I sort of wish it was malingering.  He has been really poorly all day.  

Anyway, while CarbBoy slept off whatever ails him, Mr B - with his own illness to bear - headed up to the roof to effect whatever repairs he could to the many leaks we had last week.  Meanwhile, I tried to deal with some work and admin while providing finding and holding services to Mr B (including fixing the jigsaw which, I think, he thinks I broke).  Later, the piano tuner tuned, shopping was done, the poorly car (theme of the day) was delivered to the garage, and I chopped the top of my finger off.  Which explains any typos. TallGirl's response was, of course, to appear with a slide and ask me for a few drops of blood to examine under her microscope.  (Apparently the red blood cells started coagulating very quickly.)

TallGirl started a discussion at dinner about group-work (which she loathes) stating that "I have never been in a group with a good leader, unless I was the leader".  Obviously Mr B is beyond proud....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.