Lus Mór

I was awake 5 minutes before the alarm and up at 5am!! Yes, the second and final survey for this year's birdwatch Ireland. I've Put it off and put it off but today it had to be done. What a gorgeous morning - light, the birds singing away as I left the house at 5.20am!  
I saw:
half a moon and a planet
a sliver of crimson at 5.15am
the sun rise at 5.30
pink contrails as 4 planes headed towards Spain?
pockets of mist floating ethereal and a ram on his knees
4 foxes, white tipped 
a hare, long legged and lean
a  dog, grey whiskered asleep in his porch
a mare and her foal dew deep in the grass
a cross on the hillside
a riot of wrens
a profusion of flowers
a sign saying beware of the bull
and a man running with his dog wearing a cone of shame,

Wrens, starlings and willow warblers most numerous birds. Foxgloves, Lus Mór, looking especially attractive amongst hedgerows of wild flowers.

Joy and bliss, as I came back through Skibbereen Lidl was open and I Bought a pain o chocolate and some cherries. Delicious. Thus fuelled, I took advantage of the high tide and enjoyed a wonderful swim - all before 9.30am!! Wrecked now.

And it's World Environment Day so all that seems pretty fitting. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.