secret garden

By freespiral

A great challenge from dollykgray today and a little explanation re my names. The journal name Secret Garden is a reference to my bit of wilderness in West Cork - far too large for us to manage, but a bit of heaven with all its boskiness and abundance; and you would never know it was there from the road. The freespiral bit - well maybe I was thinking of threespirals and had a bit of a lispy moment! I love spirals, especially the triskele with all its magical, mystical and historical connotations. I can easily see myself wafting around covered enticingly in blue woad spirals back in Celtic times (yes, I know that we're not meant to call them Celtic times any more but you know what I mean - Indigenous Brisitsh/Irish times seems a bit of a mouthful). And the free bit - well I have notions towards free spiritedness, so a nice combination. A quick nod to my current enthusiasm too - holy wells and here is a typical posture: bum in the air, head down a well.

Thanks to those that took part in last week's DS Challenge - not many entries but those that did were all rather good so very difficult to choose. Serpentine has also donated hearts as we're doing a cross-over thingy. She will host until  the end of the month then I think we might let the challenge take a break, certainly over the summer, maybe indefinitely. So my faves go to:
Philiphoto for the rich blues and shades of former glory
Veronica  for that beautiful cool interior, and I want the tiles
davidstebbing for another beautiful interior, those colours
DesertCamel for thegorgeous old doors and the exotic gents
Madwill for his arsenic coloured door, Farrow & Ball would kill for that colour!
And
Bobsblips had already got  a heart before I realised it was derelict!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.