Here and Now

By Mole

A Tiny Slice of Backyard Action

Definitely in a tiny rut here. 2 recorded messages said the mattress inspector would arrive between 8:30 and 11:30 with a phone call half an hour before arrival. He knocked at 8:20 (no prior call of course) while I was still sans dentures. Sans coif. Sans smile.

So we did what we already did once before - again. The first time, during the peak of renovation madness, our strong contractors helped so I could photograph the entire king-sized mattress without the heavy foam topper, the box spring without the mattress, the frame without the box spring, the silk tag, the manufacturer’s tag with serial number, the depth of the indentation (rut) with string, clips, and a yardstick. A dozen photographs were required. And the claim was approved by the store giving us 30 days to find another, while Sears stores were closing all over the country. Mr Mole couldn’t ride far enough to shop for a replacement. So I contacted Stearns and Foster for a second go. They needed fresh pictures you see. I couldn’t do that again. Hence, the inspector that Sears would not send.

The inspector and I did the heavy lifting, shoving, and unzipping so he could take 3 photographs of the mattress alone to submit to the manufacturer who will approve the claim again.

It’s no tiny thing to get a good night’s sleep and wake up without excruciating back and joint pain. Which I had been doing until I moved to the couch.

So a little backyard action is a tiny relief. Note the second woodpecker top left. They were all here today including Northern Flickers, cardinals, catbirds, wrens, nuthatches, sparrows, starlings, chipmunks, black and gray squirrels. I’ve promised myself a real camera when I get our taxes done. Lots of not-so-tiny things keep cropping up.

Thanks jensphotos for hosting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.