tomhutts

By tomhutts

Call of the void

I was feeling a bit rough today. I got up fairly early and ran some errands. I went to a lab and handed in my film in that I shot on labour day + a few extra rolls. I then went to a train station and took a quick snap on my phone for a uni exercise. We were assigned to ‘make the invisible, visible’ whether it’s a feeling, a physical thing, etc. I decided to try and capture ‘call of the void’. I can’t be bothered describing it so I’m going to copy and paste the description in.
“I could just jump right now,” you think to yourself, before mentally recoiling at the thought as you withdraw from the ledge. You’re not alone. The French have a phrase for it: l’appel du vide, the call of the void.
If you’ve experienced this feeling in a completely non-suicidal way, there’s no definitive conclusion or explanation for it. It is, however, a feeling common enough that studies have been dedicated it.

After uni, nothing much happened for the rest of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.