tomhutts

By tomhutts

Herrentag

Today was “Herrentag” or “Mens day”. It’s a national holiday in Germany. The official holiday is “ascension day”, something Christ related. Lara and I head to Goodies, a local cafe near us that Lara frequents. We both wanted a coffee and a pastry. I got a berry scone and a flatwhite. It was exactly what I needed. We then headed down to Boxy G to chill for a bit. We were passed by a loud group of angry looking women chanting something. One of them handed us this flyer. Whilst I agree with some of it, the flyer was complete hyperbole. Lara and I visited a few different parks today and didn’t see a single group of unruly men. I think this kind of protesting is harmful and leads to further polarisation of gender/politics. Not everything is black and white, men vs women. It’s a stupid mindset.
We retreat from the crowd to sunbathe on the grass. After chilling for a while, we’re both feeling pretty sweaty and gross. We head back to the flat to freshen up. I take a well needed cold shower. Then we head to Books and Bagels for some food. My hands are shaking quite a lot, it was 4pm and all I’d had so far was a small scone and far too much caffeine. My personal favourite bagel, “Sticky Goat” (goats cheese and honey) sorted me right out. Food has never tasted so good.
We head back to the flat where I chill for the rest of the night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.