WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Cherry ripe

Two kilos for five euros at the market. I armed myself with the dedicated cherry-pitting apron ... cherries now turned into compote. As we were setting off back to the car, a very determined market trader also persuaded me to pay him five euros for a tray of just over a kilo of raspberries. On the way to the car I realised I should have bargained, because I was paying the same per kilo as I would if I'd just bought a couple of punnets. Also, after carefully selecting local products for the rest of our shopping, we'd just bought a product of the mar de plástico in Huelva. Oh well. Raspberries are a rare treat as almost no-one grows them here, and they're very expensive when you do see them.

Overcast in the morning, sunny after lunch, rain, sun, rain again ... we might as well be in the UK. It seems this is going to last for the foreseeable future ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.