Little Details

I love the macro world. Little details can be seen that would otherwise be missed. I’ve certainly seen and learned a whole lot since I started taking macro shots. Today I couldn’t pick a favourite so I’ve made a collage of four insects I observed in Dawn’s meadow.

Top left: the distinctive red Cinnabar Moth. The caterpillars are orange and black and feed on Ragwort.
Top right: Hoverfly, species unknown
Bottom left: the easily identified metallic Thick Legged Flower Beetle (male with swollen back legs) aka False Oil Beetle
Bottom right: the stealthy & skilful Scorpion Fly (Male) with its sting-like but harmless tail. They are scavengers and can remove prey from spider webs without becoming entangled themselves!

Amy, Heidi & I ran Scouts tonight using the Mosquito Challenge resource; the aim being to educate about the transmission of malaria and later fundraise to buy nets for scouts in South Africa to distribute. It was mostly games based learning and although behaviour was not good, we were on top of it and the session worked well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.