conventgirl

By conventgirl

distant

In the dim and distant past I used to live in a place that is about the most distant place you can get - an island called Vanuatu in the SW Pacific.This is a wooden Tam-Tam made for the tourists and is about 3ft tall. In reality they can be 20ft and are highly ceremonial.Each village would have one carved from special wood and it would be used to summon the villagers for ceremonies. They can have up to six heads depending on the status of the carver.
I often look back on my time there and wonder if I would like to go back.In my day it was an unspoilt island with not many roads,the only traffic lights were on the road that crossed the runway at the airport, no TV and cars that belonged in the 50's (although it was the 80's). Looking at it now via the internet it seems like may other tropical islands.I'm sure it would be lovely but just not the way I fondly remember it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.