Always Watching

A week or so ago I noticed this as we drove past it in the car, and decided I would pop back and blip it one day. Well today was the day! It is on the side of House of Fraser, towards the back of the building, which I'm guessing is a storage area. I did much tinkering once again!

I saw on the news today that House of Fraser is closing many of its stores, and this one in Lincoln is to be one of them. Lots of stores, especially big ones like this seem to be closing these days. Last time this happened, back when Woolworths etc. went to the wall, the word Recession was heard constantly, but that isn't being mentioned this time. Maybe it is because people are still shopping, but doing more of it online. 

Though I do think prices are higher than they were in comparison to wages for most people. The customer base for these big stores is shrinking. There was a time the likes of a lowly chippy worker like myself could purchase from places like this, and Debenham's which apparently is also in difficulty, but that time is long past. 


It will mean another large empty unit on our High Street, which is a shame. The old BHS is still empty. Boots are going to move across the street into it, but that will leave their old unit vacant. I have noticed that the newer units created in the latest refurb are smaller, and maybe turning these bigger spaces into smaller ones is the way to go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.