Western Pennsylvania Freedom Road Rally

I met friends from out of town for a lovely breakfast at the Corner Room, and followed that up with a quick stop at the Arboretum. And such good timing: what should happen JUST as I got to the Arboretum, but a whole group of old, marvelous cars showed up. It was like a parade, just for me!

It also felt very strange, like I had stepped back in time. I gawked, and then I walked around taking pictures, surrounded by shiny chrome and the smell of exhaust. I stopped and talked to a few of the people (many of whom were a bit on in years: classic cars, classic peeps!). The first words out of my mouth were: "Congratulations on your most awesomely amazing old CARS!"

They said there were 73 cars total, from all over the U.S. and Canada. The group had started the morning in Pittsburgh, and drove to the Penn State Arboretum. From here, they would be heading to Erie, Pennsylvania. The weather was fine for a road trip: a bit cool, overcast, breezy, with some sun. I admit I was envious.

So when I got back to my computer, I looked up the event and learned some things. And so I'll link out here to the website for the Western Pennsylvania Freedom Road Rally. The website says this:

The event is open to pre-1974 vehicles or any vehicle that is “in the spirit of the event.” The most important criteria that participants must meet before entering the event is the desire to have an adventure and as much fun as possible!

I can't speak for anybody else, but personally, I had TONS of fun at the Road Rally! :-) There were far too many cars to include in a single blip, so here are a few above, and two other vehicles appear in the extra photos area.

I almost felt like I was inside some kind of impromptu living, breathing ZZ Top video. (Their music videos often feature one or more classic vehicles.) So let's let the song for my soundtrack on this day be this one: ZZ Top, with Gimme All Your Lovin'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.