travels with my camera

By valeriedalling

Match The Hatch

A couple of weeks ago I was challenged to photograph a Mayfly. I dont give in easily but this would seem to be one of those occasions where it had me beat, as they are so quick in the air, until today that is.

Something made me look up and there it was on my studio door. I had to be quick as I knew it wouldn't hang around for long, so I grabbed the phone and hey presto!

My son Mark enjoys fly fishing in his spare time, and he filled me in on a few interesting facts...

This one is male as it's front legs are long. Judging by the tail length it's in the last phase of a very short life, known as the Imago phase. Match The Hatch is a flyfishing term used when checking out what fly is hatching from the water and matching it from the box of flies that he has tied.

Here's a link with a bit more info if anyone is interested...I've found it all quite fascinating

https://www.buglife.org.uk/bugs-and-habitats/mayfly

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.