Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Polar Pilot

I was ecstatic to be roped in by No.1 daughter as photographic assistant at Aynhoe Park.

Aynhoe was bought in 2004 by 'music veteran' James Perkins and contains treasures from his globe trotting adventures which have to be seen to be believed. I seriously didn't know which way to turn there was such a wealth of material. It is a private house built in 1615 but was damaged in the battle of Naseby, rebuilt by Edward Marshall Charles 11's master mason, enlarged in 1710 and the park was designed by Capability Brown

Biggles Bear stood out for me as the first amongst thousands of totally stunning, amazing and fascinating collectibles and I just knew I had to blip him. Anyone with an interest in nature, history, architecture will be enthralled by the spectacle which does have a very quirky side, hence polar pilot but most of the stuffed exhibits have some sort of adorning such as brooches, bowler hats, necklaces, crowns etc to give you an idea that this is not quite your normal museum! Disco balls nuzzle in with Roman/Greek pillars, architrave from the House of Lords and other artefacts because James loves not just collecting but entertaining in grand style as well. Another of my favourite pieces was the orangutang skull.
.

The house was recently featured on TV and Grayson Perry sums up for me, '.......it's good that people will take on these monuments and put a bit of life into them.' I would say not just life but entertainment and humour too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.