Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Redshank

Today I set out at 8am and then spent 6 hours at Brockholes Nature Reserve near Preston. Always in search of Kevin the kestrel, I kept my eyes peeled all day. The only time he appeared was quite pantomime like - "he's behind you!"  I was taking shots of insects and just happened to glance up and there he was, taking a dive not 20 yards away. Of course he pounced on his prey and flew off far too quickly for me to get any shots, but it was a lovely moment to witness. 
I had a great day wandering around the reserve and saw quite a variety - butterflies, moths, insects and birds (a few in extras). And since I have not posted a redshank this year, here is today's blip. He soon disappeared when 3 coachloads of small school children rocked up for a visit. I don't think anybody told them that they should be quiet if they wanted the birds to stay! 

I dropped in at work to pick up my laptop, which was being upgraded and surprisingly it looks OK so far. 
Spent the past couple of hours downloading/deleting photos and searching for temporary car insurance for when my brother comes to stay - what a palaver….

Not being very successful in catching up with the commenting I'm afraid. I think I'm just going to start again from today - I don't have time to go back on everyone's journals - sorry :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.