SILLY SATURDAY - LOOK AT THOSE EARS!

Although Mr. HCB is at cricket today, for the first day of a four day cricket match, he dropped me at Jack’s as I was due to meet our older son, Martyn and grandson, Josh, who is now at home from uni for the summer.  

Whilst waiting for them to arrive, I saw this lovely little dog named Pippy, who was in Jack’s with her owner so I thought it would make a good Blip, especially as I don’t post many shots of animals. 

Karen, Jack’s owner’s wife, was holding her so I took the opportunity to snap both of them. Mike, Pippy’s owner said it would cost me £1 to take her photograph but I said surely 15 minutes of fame on Blip was payment enough! 

Mike told me that Pippy, who is now about 13 years old, was found abandoned a few years ago but is now a resident farm dog and is an excellent rat catcher. 

It was interesting that when I said “Rats” her little ears went up - so here she is, posing beautifully for my Silly Saturday Blip.

Whilst texting with Josh yesterday,  and knowing that he doesn't like getting up that early (a typical teenager!) I told him that if he and his Dad arrived before 10.00 a.m. I would treat him - surprise, surprise - they arrived at 9.57, both looking at their watches as they walked in, so I kept my word and treated them both to breakfast - and of course, I had an egg and bacon roll too - you can see them enjoying theirs in the extras. 

It was great to see them both, and we then had almost two hours chatting mainly about how things have changed in the last fifty years, the most time I have spent with Josh since Christmas - so a great morning. 

Martyn then gave me a lift home - I decided to paint our new handrail that we had installed a few weeks ago, and am now waiting for it to dry so that I can apply the top coat.  I daresay Mr. HCB thinks I sit and do nothing all day whilst he is away at cricket.  

“Love your family -
     spend time with them,
          be kind and serve
               one another.
Make no room for regrets -
     tomorrow is not promised
          and today is short.”
Anon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.