A WONDERFUL BLIP MEET

I was due to meet up with GodsCreation and two of her children today at Hungerford Garden Centre but when I arrived, there was a sign that said they weren’t serving coffee or any hot drinks.  When GC arrived I told her that there was no coffee, but we went inside anyway, so that we could sit down and chat, but then we were told that they were serving cold drinks and cakes - so we were happy with that.  I must admit that the Salted Caramel Crunch Frostini and millionaires shortbread went down a treat - and I didn’t even miss the coffee!

It seems to me that most Blipmeets consist of Blippers meeting and then dashing about taking lots of photographs, but that isn’t the case when GodsCreation, Matthew, Lynette and I meet.  We seem to sit, drink and eat and do lots of chatting, which suits us fine.  

Today I learned, mostly from Matthew, that their bearded dragon, named Ray, lived in a Vivarium and they fed it locusts.  He then told me that a large number of locusts is a swarm, but a huge amount is known as a plague - and he explained how much damage they can do to crops.  We spoke about the Ten Plagues in Egypt and how awful it must have been for those living there at the time.  Matthew did go into graphic detail of how they put the locusts in with the dragon and then they watch her eating them - which left me feeling a bit queasy - and I freely admit I am a wimp where things like this are concerned.  

Lynette and Matthew then went off to look around, whilst GC and I chatted some more, and a few minutes later they came back, and asked very excitedly if we would like to go and look at the locusts in the Pets area at the Garden Centre.  Not wishing to be thought a coward, I agreed and off we went.  Matthew took great pleasure in showing me locusts, crickets and moria worms, all of which were in see-through plastic containers, but I didn’t want to get too close.  GC did say I could go and see their bearded dragon, but I declined her kind offer although she did say they wouldn’t let it out whilst I was there!

We then wandered round a bit more and Matthew carried on telling me about locusts and how they jump - and he even demonstrated his “locust” posture!  Oh how I wish that I could get down like that - although if I did this in the middle of a garden centre, they would definitely be carting me off!

I love it when celebrations continue and even though it is now over three months since our Golden Wedding, I was delighted to receive a lovely card and gift from GC and her family, so the card is now on the mantelpiece and will stay there for sometime - I have taken the other ones down and they are now in a scrapbook, where this one will go eventually.

What a lovely day we have had together - after they had left to go home, I had a wander round the garden centre and bought the few bits and bobs that Mr. HCB needed, then headed back home myself - and to think, if I hadn’t been a Blipper, I might never have met this lovely family.  

Thank you so much, GC, Lynette and Matthew - for your kindness and your friendship - and for all the new things I learned today.  

“There are only three things which 
     increase when shared: 
          love, wisdom and happiness.” 
Charbel Tadros

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.