ABSTRACT THURSDAY

Irony : a state of affairs or an event that seems deliberately contrary to what one expects and is often wryly amusing as a result.

It’s ironic, and a little amusing really that all week long I have been struggling to take shots that were sharp and crisp and believe me, it has been a struggle - such that I have almost given up - but today, when I wanted a shot that was deliberately blurry, it was quite hard!

When taking shots that are purposely blurry, one practises what is known as ICM - or intentional camera movement - out of almost 40 shots, there were only 5 that were blurry enough for me to think about using for the Abstract Thursday challenge.  It did make me smile! :-) 

In the past, I have swung the camera around my head, after setting the self-timer, but didn’t think this would be sensible with a newish camera.

However, this shot pleased me - our poppies and the trace of a few pinks down at the right, with the bright blue fence in the background.  We have just been out and bought several new plants so I need to put them in position in the garden so that they can be planted by Mr. HCB.

After a beautiful day yesterday, the weather is back to being grey and dull and there is quite a bit of breeze, but Mr. HCB doesn’t mind - as long as it is fine and sunny for the next cricket match on Saturday, which lasts for four days.  Unfortunately, their team lost yesterday but he and Keith still enjoyed the day.  Quite funny in another way too, as they were given vouchers for free beer - Keith doesn’t drink and Mr. HCB was driving - so how ironic was that?  

“Life is too ironic to fully understand.
It takes sadness to know what happiness is,
noise to appreciate silence and
absence to value presence.”
Anon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.