THINGS CAN CHANGE IN THE BLINK OF AN EYE!

It’s amazing how one telephone call can change the whole day!  I’m sure many of you will agree with that - in fact, one telephone call can change your whole life!

Today I was supposed to be going over to the Wiltshire Air Ambulance HQ at Semington to interview some of the staff and crew for the Radio Station, but the air ambulance helicopter has been called out unexpectedly, so that visit won’t be taking place until next week.  We just hope that the call-out is nothing serious.

It set me wondering what it had been called out to and then it made me think that perhaps for someone involved in an accident, one telephone call could change things “in the blink of an eye”!  

Our lives were changed thirty years ago when our younger son was involved in a serious road accident and we were very grateful to the air ambulance crew who airlifted him to our local hospital - thankfully our son was OK - but because of the injuries he received in the accident, he now lives in a warm climate as winters in the UK made life difficult for him.  We have often smiled, though, because he would have enjoyed a flight in a helicopter, but as he was unconscious the whole time, he wouldn’t have known anything about it!

It’s a miserable, cold and rainy day today, so as I won’t be taking photographs of helicopters, I decided to go out into the garden looking for something for Flower Friday.  Mr. HCB offered to hold an umbrella over me, but I just braved the weather and got round quickly.  The red Paul Scarlet roses are looking good, but I preferred the three Compassion buds - and this is SOOC, so no titivating whatsoever.

Now we are all dressed up, Mr. HCB is going to take me out for a coffee - but I think we’ll wait until the Friday lunchtime rush has gone.

“In the blink of an eye 
     everything can change. 
So forgive often 
     and love with all your heart. 
You may not have that chance again.”
Hilary Hinton Ziglar aka Zig Ziglar

P.S.  Thank you for all the lovely comments, stars and hearts for yesterday's poppies - a poignant day for many.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.