RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Dia de los Muertos 2

After the initial rush of seeing a cemetery completely lit by candles and attempting to capture such a grand vista (see yesterday's post) I noticed that there were hundreds of interesting people sitting graveside. Of course, it is very dark after midnight, so much of my shooting was on a hope and a prayer - point in the general direction of an interesting looking person or persons, count on the camera's auto focus to get something relatively sharp, brace carefully for the long exposure, gently squeeze the button, stumble on to the next shot. It wasn't until I got back to my computer that I could see I captured a good image of this woman who intrigued me so much while I was at the sight. Very expressive face and perfect candle lighting makes for a memorable image from a night that stretched until 2:00 in the morning.

Additional images from that evening can be seen here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.