Edinburgh

Descending from Arthur’s Seat

A rather splendid day spent over the border. I had been keen to try and catch up with one of Andrew's walks from when he started his stroller groups. Today was the day. I hadn't slept well so at 6 I decided to go for it and headed up to Edinburgh to join the group. I was keen to see Dr Neil's Garden where we started out and then loved the community orchard that we went through as we headed up towards Arthur's Seat where we stopped for lunch (thanks for the sandwich, Andrew ... I wasn't thinking of lunch at 6 this morning!) It was glorious weather with some wonderful views of Edinburgh and the Firth of Forth. On our way down we had a look at St Anthony's chapel and found St Margaret's well further down (extra) ... this has been moved from it's original site (always fascinated by the idea of moving a well! The well house was placed over a new spring). I realise now we had missed St Anthony's so will have to go back! Some good conversations were had and then all nicely washed down at the Sheep's Hied Inn at Duddington before I made my way back home. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.