Allonby

The long heat shimmering views along the coast reminded me of Death in Venice.

Having been inspired by the community orchard yesterday I wondered if there were any similar gardens nearby and discovered that there was one at Allerby ...
https://www.westhouse.org.uk/2013/grow-west-allerby-gardens/
The heat, potential for hey fever, developing showers and a fancy for the coast were the deciders and off I went. By the time I got there I was exhausted and rather overcome having been listening to Shirley Williams telling the history of Vera and Edward Brittain and The Forgotten Front.

I then headed to the coast and had a long walk along the shore towards Silloth delighting in walking bare foot over the sands, in shorts and a shirt and being so warm! All the talk yesterday of shared memories of north Norfolk reminded me of how I used to go semi feral for the whole summer and wouldn’t want to put my shoes and socks back on for school. As I walked today I had a vivid memory of catching the ferry to Scolt Head and seeing the huge summer weathered brown splayed toes of Fred the Ferryman against the sandy boards of the white and blue trimmed Harbour Light.

As I made my way back to Allonby I wondered if there might be ice cream to be had. There was but the queue was half way to Silloth and I reckoned it might be winter before I got served so headed home for a cuppa.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.