Another Ootheca!

When I looked for the rescued female praying mantis this morning I could hardly believe my eyes. She had built another egg case, her third! This time I’m quite certain that it is hers because she was sitting on that very spot when I closed the greenhouse yesterday. (See the extra shot in yesterday’s blip.) Her new ootheca is small, but very neat, unlike her last messy one. This answers a question I’ve had for years- they do build more than one ootheca if conditions are suitable.

After completing an ootheca the mantis often climbs any nearby vertical surface and launches herself off. I saw this one climbing, but I wasn’t there for her flight. Given her damaged wings and wing cases she would not have gone far, but below her were a densely packed collection of potted flowers and vegetables. Now I can’t find her!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.