Two’s Company

Today was dark, wet and miserable. The waxeyes appreciated the sugar water, fat and shelter I was able to provide. About fifteen were here most of the day. This is a good number. Last week the number went up to thirty-odd. They were very noisy and aggressive. I covered the fat for several hours each day and let the sugar water run out in the mornings. I believe they should be encouraged to forage for themselves. The bulk of the flock left and so far haven’t come back.

I love to watch the little couples. I like to think that they are the resident pairs, while the many singles are visitors. Waxeyes mate for life. When they have eaten they perch very close together, groom and snooze. Note that only two legs are required when they sit like this.

In the extra shot she is grooming him, and then they both go to sleep for a while.

Sorry about the quality of the shots. It was very dark and I was shooting through a window.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.