EvelyneNaylorC

By EvelyneNC

black sheep

Originally this was bought for my little grandchild but I decided to keep it. It is one of those pieces that I kind of identify with.
In a way I am regarded as the black sheep of the family as I dared to emigrate to the US, leaving the rest of the family "behind" . I guess, that will never be forgiven.
In the seventies I had to laugh over a comic, showing two sheep on a dyke in Northern Germany, with a white lamb. They had pushed out a black sheep in a little boat into the river and the  white lamb asked his white parents: "Do you really think that they like black sheep better in the US than here?"
A different situation of course, but I still like the irony of it. Strangely enough no one here notices that I am 'a black sheep'. So to say, they do like them better here.
There are so many reasons why I love to live in the US.(I am not talking about the political situation here) 15 Years of living in the West of the USA have certainly changed me, I am not the same 'German' person that I was all those years ago. And I felt that distance, that estrangement when I was in Germany in May.  Many little things in every days life, that don't feel that comfortable for me anymore.
But then there are the roots, my past , my family - 56 years of German memories, and somehow I sometimes have a hard time fitting all this into one picture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.