A Wet Flush

A lot cooler today - we went up to Glasdrum Nature Reserve above Loch Creran, hoping to spot some Chequered Skippers, but didn't see many butterflies at all, probably because of the lack of sunshine. We saw a few dancing Speckled Wood, and a few day flying moths of some sort and one Pearl-bordered Fritillary - I think. I've put it on as an extra so if anyone can confirm it or otherwise that would be good.

What I was really pleased to see however were two groups of a couple of dozen or more each of a pure white form of what I hope is Dactylorrhiza maculata, the Heath Spotted Orchid, growing in a wet flush, as I found out to my cost, in the shade. Very nice.

Afterwards we enjoyed lunch at the Creagan Inn before going back to Oban to take Daughter 1 down to the ferry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.